The Next Big Thing – Tag! You’re IT!

I’ve been tagged by Edith O’Deer http://edithodeer.wordpress.com/2012/11/17/the-next-big-thing-tag-youre-it/  to talk about my next big thing in this chain-blog. Read on through these Q’s and A’s and you’ll get to see who I pass on the baton to…

What is the working title of your next book?  

This is a hideous insight to my chronic indecisiveness, but I’ve copied this directly from the Word document I’m writing my story in:

The Space Between

Dream Machine

Creep

Subliminal

Catch the Girls

And none of those will probably be the final title!

Where did the idea for the book come from?  

In a nutshell, from dreaming. But I guess it goes a bit deeper than that. Sometimes, when I’m really unlucky, I get sleep paralysis and a recent spurt of bad nights gave me the seed of an idea. However, I’m a little nervous the whole thing is beyond the point of weird and firmly in the realms of lunacy.

What genre does your book fall under?

Most of my stories have a sci-fi element, but this is probably closer to dark fantasy with a sci-fi touch. Crucially (for me), it also has a monster in it.

I like monsters.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Any actor?? Okay, my MC is a loner and has some issues he is trying to deal with in a slightly unorthodox, perhaps misguided, way. I’d have to go with Johnny Depp for the ‘weird’ factor.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?   

Disillusioned loner stalks the dreams of a beautiful stranger and stumbles upon a dangerously dark, and ancient, monster secret.

Will your book be self-published or represented by a traditional publisher?

It will probably turn out at around 15,000 – 20,000 words so I’ll throw it at a few genre magazines. For sure, I won’t self-publish.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Not even there yet. I’m only 5K in.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Not that I could ever compare myself to Stephen King, but the genre is similar

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Overdosing on Black Static Magazine

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?             

I enjoy writing a flawed character, and this one is flawed in a rather perverted way…

If you want to learn more about my stories please visit:

http://deangilessf.com/

https://deangiles.wordpress.com

And I tag:

In turn, I’d like to invite readers to visit the blogs of the following authors in the next few weeks to find out about their Next Best Thing.

Fellow TWB Press author Craig Jones, who has an awesome website here: http://craigjoneshorror.co.uk/

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great reading, sounds really interesting, plus I love your choice in actor. Says a lot, and winds up the interest.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Edith. I’ve tagged Craig Jones for the next one. Should be interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

